New Writing Course

I finally did it, I’ve enrolled in a new writing course and am soooo looking forward to it. I’m hoping it will be better than the last so-called creative writing course I took at a local college last year, and was very disappointed.  This particular college runs evening classes but the general attitude regarding the courses seem to be that we are a crowd of people just looking for something to do to get out of the house for the evening.  This annoys me because I really do want to write.  I want to learn the craft.  These colleges are charging money for nothing, and where do they get the attitude that it’s okay to do this?  I once did an evening course in hairdressing where it became apparent the tutor knew very little about hairdressing, resulting in us all making a right mess of each others hair, under her less than expert tuition.  I remember leaving with a hairdo that resembled Rod Stewart on a very bad day.  My colleague was worse, she looked as if her hair had been cut with a knife and fork! Her lovely long locks had been hacked to within an inch of its life, she still shudders to this day when I mention our hairdressing days.  I’m not saying that all colleges are like this, or indeed all tutors, but this one college seems to be particularly bad for wasting people’s time and money.  So hopefully, this latest course will be good, (it’s at a more reputable college, I hope – fingers, legs and eyes crossed!) but if it’s not I will be demanding my money back sooner rather than later.  Watch this space…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. peeversandpenguins
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 19:47:26

    Hi Allychat. I love your first post and as we are now almost at the end of the first term I hope you are very glad that you joined this particular course. For those out there who don’t know, I am on it too and have loved every minute. It is full of wildly creative people who write weird wacky and wonderful things and is run by a tutor who is fearless in encouraging us to let go, give what it takes, and take each others’ criticism on the chin. Looking forward to reading your stuff, and have you rip mine apart! xx

    Like

    Reply

    • allychat
      Dec 05, 2014 @ 20:58:34

      Hi peeversandpenguins, I’m very glad I joined the writing course, it’s been super. You are so right, the tutors have been so helpful and definitely fearless! I have had my novel reading eyes opened wide 🙂 Don’t know what I’ll do for 6 weeks until it starts again. Does that sound a bit sad?? Have loved all the work and discussions, and meeting some very nice people too – who are not too unkind in their criticisms. Looking forward to tomorrow, remember to bring your glad rags for later 😉 Enjoyed the grub last week. This term has went in so quick, must be enjoying myself xx

      Like

      Reply

      • peeversandpenguins
        Jan 01, 2015 @ 17:21:30

        I’m doing my homework – are you? 😦

        Like

      • allychat
        Jan 01, 2015 @ 17:50:07

        No I’m afraid I’ve been a naughty party animal and will have to start very soon – it’s so hard to work when I know its the holidays! :0

        Like

Leave a Reply

Twitter Timeline

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Posts

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Temporary Tattoos - Body Art At It's Best

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Faraday's Candle

It's an amazing world of science...let's go exploring!

Annette Bennett Watercolor ART

Animals with a Watercolor Art-itude

Old Farts University of Common Knowledge

Ageless education on Social Media, Internet and everything else

No Plain Janie

Family, fashion and food, not necessarily in that order...

Campbell Family Farm

The story of our farm, living and loving life one day at a time.

Andy & Judi's Worldwide Travels

World Cruise, Round World Flights & RV'ing North America

Author S B Mazing

Author, Writer and Dreamer

Finding Myself Through Writing

Writing Habits of Elle Knowles - Author

Weighting Game

Still trying to figure it out in my 50's

Fiction Limbo

"The fiction Limbo of a writing lunatic"

In My Pursuit Of Happiness

Walking the line...

Okay, What if ?

What if life was completely random?

Lightwalkers Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Leah's Fashion Blog

http://leahpereyra.wordress.com

Small Town Dreamer

Putting the dreams in words & the words on here!

